How Do You Like Them Apples?

Bountiful Baskets Day!
1375961_10200373528691577_1638730865_n
Can you say YUM! Here is a picture of my latest haul from my co-op. 

Breakdown: 12 bananas, 2 pomegranates, 7 bell peppers, 4 limes, ginger root, 1 cucumber, 1 butter lettuce, 6 tomatoes, biggest yam I have ever seen, 1 onion, 1 cantaloupe, 2 apples, 4 beets w/ greens, carrots about 3-4lbs, strawberries, bunch of Kale, bunch of Parsley, bunch of Celery, romaine lettuce, 1 pineapple, and 3 oranges (hiding behind the romaine) all for $25!

Then I swung by my local market and picked up some interesting finds: sunflower sprouts and sorrel. (oh and local corn on the cob!)
20130928-130748.jpg
Then I finally found some farm fresh eggs! (not that they never had them, I just never thought to look there) I really love how unique each egg is. They all have unique colors and sizes, not just all brown or white large eggs. Something about that is really creepy to me now!
20130928-130801.jpg
Also snagged a slice lemon strawberry banana bread from a local vegan co-op and some homemade pumpkin chocolate chip bread from another baker! Not to mention all the great people I met and free knowledge I acquired.

Local makes me happy!
-Ellie

P.S.
I picked up some wool dryer balls from a local crafter, I am excited to use them and will review them ASAP!

All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for any of these local reviews. I encourage you to find local markets in your community! Featured image courtesy of antpkr | freedigitalphotos.net

Share your thoughts

